The welcoming Free State

This post is a ‘thank you’ for a little girl I know in Bloemfontein called Isabelle. It was her mum’s birthday breakfast today and I was lucky enough to go along.

IMG_3329Last night Isabelle set the table beautifully for all the ladies to enjoy, and then she realised that she would be at school and miss the party – oh no! So I took some photos and thought I’d write about it.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3332

 

 

 

Here is great grandma’s special table cloth and some pretty teeny weeny forks that we used for our desert.

 

 

 

Each person got a special written note on their side plate and a prayer from the birthday girl. We had fruit salad and warm bread and lots of other yumminess -morning birthday parties are becoming one of my favourite things about living in South Africa!

IMG_3345 (1)

 

 

 

 

Recently she’s been growing little baby rock roses – aren’t these the cutest little things ever? I am becoming a bit obsessed by succulents since living in the Free State.

 

 

 

 

IMG_3326

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We each got to take one home from her collection. My chosen baby is that purple one in the middle. Oh the pressure of keeping it alive…!!

 

 

 

 

IMG_3335 (1)

 

 

 

 

So thank you Isabelle – I can see why people talk about the hospitality of Bloemfontein! But most important of all, you can see how happy mum was here with some of her lovely friends. (Sorry one boy was allowed in but he was so cute we couldn’t resist him.) x