One extreme to the other.

Most of last year we were worshiping with 10 or 20 people – sometimes 30, but often just me and Colin plus the dog.

Last weekend I had to giggle as we went to the other extreme and sang our hearts out with a MILLION other people. 1.7 million had booked in but it was hard to tell if they’d all turned up. It doesn’t really matter.

The reason we all got together was that this guy called Angus Buchan called a huge prayer meeting for South Africa called ‘It’s Time’. There is a lot to pray about – the government, racism, crime, injustice, poverty, the economy…. Seeing as it was up the road from our house, it seemed rude not to go – some people were travelling from Cape Town or Durban, flying in from overseas even … and we know of one man who cycled 800 km from Limpopo just to be there. Yep – he set off weeks beforehand and peddled his bike with his own legs and got himself there – so how could we not go?? He’s probably still cycling home as I write this, a week later. 17 adjacent farmers gave up their land and dismantled their fences to allow us the space to gather. Thank you farmers. 10km of cable broadcast the sound to speakers dotted around the land. We are at the far back on the right right – I’m the one in the stripey top.

IMG_8013

Coming from a country where people think you’re lame if you say you’re a christian, it was overwhelming to see so many people arriving.

 

That was it really for me – just to see that so many people care! 2km of people, all of them caring about the country. There were all kinds….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The voortrekkers of old walked through this land, pitching camp wherever they could, which is how Bloemfontein began. That sprit was alive and well in these thousands of thousands of Afrikaans folks – they brought cooler boxes, gazebos buggies, golf trollies piled with chairs… they were sorted. I loved them.

 

 

 

 

 

I really wanted to make friends with this lady but she left when I wasn’t looking

“Got my chips, got my pillow, got my PRAISE ON!”

Singing “10,000 Reasons” with that many other people in a field in South Africa is a memory I will always cherish.

You can just about make out the people on the hill and the stage in the distance

I don’t pretend to understand the complicated history that has left deep wounds running through this nation but I do know that for one day positivity reigned, and as we gathered you couldn’t help but feel moved. The day had come which many said would never come – Sotho men knelt and held hands in prayer with Afrikaans men.

Only God can pull such a day together.