A red, white and blue day

I’ve been in England for 2 weeks now and we’ve talked so much that I am devoid of words. I want to post about our day trip to London but I’m struggling to form sentences so I’m going to use other peoples’ words and a few photos and leave it at that.

If you’re lucky enough to catch London on a sunny day, it’s the place to be. It was spectacular. The flowers beds burgeoned, the buildings gleamed in the sunlight, and our feet burned like balls of fire (because of the miles covered).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The place was HEAVING with people. All the nations were together – going mad in Top Shop, wheeling suitcases around full of shopping, breathing in each others’ breath on the tube, gasping at the changing of the guard, buying plastic, queuing to get on to the London Eye… which I am obsessed with photographing….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And so I agree with the song, “London is the place for me.” I first heard that song on the Paddington film and loved it. Michael Bond, the author of Paddington Bear, recently passed away so I googled him and found that he was partly-inspired by watching newsreels of children being evacuated from the capital during World War 2. The children wore a label around their necks and carried all their possessions in a suitcase. The song was originally by Lord Kitchener, a Trinidadian musician who was on the ship the Empire Windrush – with hundreds of Caribbean immigrants in 1948. He sang the calypso song as he disembarked! So the song was the perfect match for the story. Well done London for wanting to find a place for everyone. You wouldn’t find many people like this in the conservative Free State, that’s for sure! I miss them….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

London is the place for me,

London this lovely city

You can go to France or America,

India, Asia or Australia

But you must come back to London city.